Pan-Fried Fish: The Healer of Hearts

Just a few excellent, exhilarating ingredients – condensed into a cohesion, could make an exuberant, ecstatic, fantastic dish; one worthy of worshiping.

Ruhu Fish fry

It is easy to achieve and summon such absurdly beautiful brightness, if the method is properly executed, spices carefully and lovingly cooked.

This is a velvety light, love-driven, decadent, and turmeric-chili-salt-pepper covered enchanting endeavor, best served on a scoop of steamed rice in a torrent rainy evening.

When whispering rainy days spill beauty like crystal confetti, people of beautiful Bangladesh dance tippy-toes between raindrops. To catch fish from seven hundred shimmering, sparkling, rigorous rivers. To pan-fry fish; tender, gently spiced, gorgeously rich timeless taste.

 

g404-1

Baking a cake could be sagacious rocket science. But pan-frying fish is as charming of a chore as giving a hidden, unnamed river a name.

.

Ingredients:

3 Fish fillets/cutlets (about 1 inch thick). Skin on or off

 A pinch of salt, coarsely freshly ground black pepper, red chili powder, turmeric powder

 2 tbsp vegetable oil or olive oil for shallow frying

 

 Method:

Bring the fish to room temperature 10 minutes before cooking.

 Season the fish with above mentioned spices.

Warm a large fry pan or skillet with oil over medium heat. Raise the heat to medium-high. Place the fish in the pan. Cook until golden brown on 1 side, about 4 minutes. Turn the fish over with a spatula, and cook until it feels firm to the touch and the skin is crisp if desired, about 3 minutes more.

The skin can be served or removed easily.

.

great195-1

Lost in the lofty taste, your heart and senses will end up being wrapped and covered with color, charisma….lifting you high like a Hummingbird, out the horizon, across a sunshiny river, deep into the pearly pebbles far down in the river’s bosom.

86 Comments on “Pan-Fried Fish: The Healer of Hearts

  1. Wow. looking so yummy. Wanna taste that fish. ❤ And also the decorations of the recipe are excellent.

  2. As-salam alaykum! Hope you and everyone in your family are well, Inshallah! Your posts are always a visual delight my love! I am so proud to be your friend. When are you returning full time??

    • Walaikum Assalam, my darling ❤ Thank you for keeping me in your mind. We are doing awesome! Is life treating you nice & kind? … my heartfelt thanks for all your kind words. I have never been a 'full-time' blogger and never will be. It is not my priority. If I can manage one post in every three months or so, that'd be more than enough for me 🙂 Love your posts and pictures. Love your attempts of getting out of the box ❤ ❤ Hugs ❤

    • Like you I eat with my eyes … sometimes. Which happens when I browse through your recipes 🙂 Thank you for your kind, heartfelt words ❤

    • Thanks, love 🙂 In my native cuisine there’s fish dish that requires almost-no spices and there are also tons of spice-loaded fun recipes 🙂

  3. Fish is my favourite source of protein. Suborna’s mouthwatering recipes and fantastic foodography make it both healthy and entertaining! Keep up your good work with recipe and food photography which have always been entertaining both to eyes and stomach! Godspeed Subornation, stay blessed!

    • God bless your pen till the end of time so much so that it never stops making my days with those kind, confidence-boosting words ❤

  4. So very beautiful. Your writing is as soothing as this the simplicity of this fish. I enjoy recipes like this.
    The styling here is spot on and is absolute perfection. Enjoy your day my dear. Hugs to you.

    • Thank you, darling, for making my day. You have no idea how much I appreciate your presence here. Hope boys are doing good. We gotta meet-up. It’s about time 🙂 ❤

  5. absolutely amazing ❤ ….and congrats for your cute little doll…God bless u both 😀

  6. it was a feat for the eye – thank you for such a wonderful post

    • Thank you so much ❤ I sure will do something about mutton. Is your wife around? I need to have a lil chit-chat with her. LOL

  7. Congratulations Nusrat for your little doll…your food is out of the world

  8. delicious recipe and beautiful pictures… !! Thanks Allah i still have eyes to see such a beauty!! Apu… you believe it or not, i ate bata mach ( which i usually do not eat) after seeing your this post!! ❤ for you and your 8 months old Doll!!

    • Looks like this blog-post is a HUGE success! Someone ate something, for real, that she doesn’t even like! How awesome is that! Tons of love and hugs for you, lil darling ❤

  9. I love everything you do, Nusrat! Even your fish looks beautiful! If there’s one person who can make me crave fish, it’d be you! And your poetic verses feed my soul! XOXO

    • I’m happy to know that, girl-friend 🙂 ❤ Your garden view and sweet-cute-dashing-daring-darling recipes can turn anybody a foodoholic. You're a true worshiper of BEAUTY ❤

  10. খুব সুন্দর ছবি ও পরিবেশনা (খুব সুন্দর বললেও কম বলা হবে ) অসম্ভব প্রিয় তোমার photography , আমি খুব গর্বিত তোমার বন্ধু হতে পেরে ❤

    • বন্ধু লজ্জা দাও কেন? – তোমার বন্ধু হবার জন্য আমি ধন্য। তুমি খুবই চমৎকার একটি মেয়ে। ভালবাসা নিও ❤

  11. Breathtaking is an understatement. I don’t know what to say!! your photography is FABULOUS and for me you are one of the best food photographers I know.

    • I can’t believe my ears! Do you know how much I admire your photography and your blog?! – You made it to the list of 100 best foodographers. Yes you’re THAT awesome. Many thanks for your compliment, dear Simi ❤

  12. I enjoy watching your blog, it’s very beautiful ❤ You have delicious recipes and wonderful pictures. Congratulations!

  13. Recipes with a story — an artistic perception that extends beyond the pan and the plate — are infinitely more fun to cook (and eat.) Thank you for the story of this recipe, Nusrat! xo

    • Those words, coming from the pen of a poetess like you, means the world to me ❤ Hugely inspired ❤ Happy to hear that you enjoyed this post. Hugs. Love. Peace. Cookies 🙂

  14. Sister every time I see your works…both cooking and photography , i just become speechless !! its amazing the way you keep on putting life in things around, Allah bless you. m gonna try this out. very simple, easy yet sounds delish.

  15. i find peace looking at ur photografs sista …Amazing … 🙂

    • Dear Charlie, the fish tastes as amazing as it looks. Do try it. Only 4 basic spices needed as mentioned in the recipe. And heartfelt thanks for stopping by ❤

  16. Great recipe and beautiful presentation once again! Lots of love.

  17. I have noticed that you have significantly changed/updated your photo-lighting. I think, Its now so dramatic than ever before. Feeling like worshiping it! Btw, which fish is that, Apu? And would like to know more about that exclusive cake. Thanks a bunch for bringing these pieces of heaven up to us. (y)

    • Glad you like my upgraded photography 🙂 Many thanks for your superb compliment…I’m over the moon! The fish in the first picture is Ruhu …our local Bengali fish and you’re looking at Salmon in the second fish-picture. The cake is a dark chocolate one. Will talk more soon insha allah about it. Take care, Proloy. Assalamu Alaikum.

  18. Oh wow… Don’t know what I should compliment you for? Your photography skills or cooking !!!

  19. If words could say it all…you always leave me speechless. There is so much to admire in your images. Look at that gorgeous chocolate cake with those beautiful flowers. The scene is so romantic (well, am trying to be decent here 😉 ). You are a lady blessed with an extremely great sense of styling and photography. Keep inspiring!

    • Please don’t try to kill me with your kindness 🙂 Thanks a bunch for checking out the post, dear Praveen ❤

  20. Looks yummy. Will definitely try out the recipe:-)

  21. salam, you have a beautiful hand at photography sister, i hope to learn more from you 🙂

Leave a comment