Chicken Kebab

Self Reminder 1:

In those pitch-black eclipse nights, darkness will fold your soul like a thick-as-a-brick, deep, dense, thorny blanket. Your misguided feet will step into the quicksands in some sandstormy nights. You will be lost in the saddest city lane. Tears will fall from your sand-soaked eyes like falling piercing rain droplets. But you must journey on. And pray to the ONE who rules the thunder. Soon you will see the star-studded sky and twinkling twilight. Pray hard.

.

Strawberries and powdered sugar :)

.

Self Reminder 2:

Eat simple, clean and fresh for food in your plate has a marvelous, magical story to tell, a legacy to leave.

.

Chicken Kebab

 

Ingredients

2 large garlic cloves, crushed

1 whole Lemon/Lime juice

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary leaves, finely chopped (you may use Thyme, Parsley or your choice of herbs instead)

Good pinch of salt

½ teaspoon crushed black pepper

1 teaspoon tomato paste/sauce (optional)

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil. Vegetable oil will work just fine

3 boneless, skinless chicken breast fillets, cut into cubes

3 Capsicum aka Bell Peppers -red, yellow, green- seeded, cut into pieces (optional)

1 Red onion, cut into cubes

3-4 wooden skewers ( soaked in water for a while to prevent from burning while grilling)

.

Directions

Mix first seven ingredients in a bowl.

Rub the paste on chicken cubes and let them marinate for 1 hour in the refrigerator. Remove from refrigerator and allow the meat to come to room temperature; it will take about 15 minutes.

Thread the chicken and veggies onto wooden skewers, then cook on a griddle/grill pan for 7-8 minutes each side or until the chicken is thoroughly cooked and golden brown. Turn the kebabs frequently and brush the marinade from time to time until evenly cooked.

.

Chicken Kebab. Special ingredient used: Tomato sauce

.

Self Reminder 3:

If you have a candle, let others light off theirs from yours. Your light won’t glow any dimmer. Then like Fireflies in the night, twinkling love surrounds you.

64 Comments on “Chicken Kebab

    • Thanks a billion! You have no idea how much I appreciate your presence on my blog and how eagerly I check out your bold and beautiful recipes. You are a legend yourself … a mighty one-man-show.

      My priorities are somewhere else… not into blogging, I guess. Sweet to know that you find my once-in-a-blue-moon posts delightful. God bless.

  1. I agree with Conor — always enjoy your posts! Never met a kebab I didn’t like, and this one looks exceptional. Thanks so much.

    • Thanks for the like! Me happy…ecstatic🙂 Yes that little touch of tomato sauce/pest gives the kebab a whole new look and taste.
      -Give it a try; piece of cake🙂

    • Aren’t you a darling! How may I thank you for all your kind words and inspiration? – You’re always in my prayers and thoughts.

      Love.

  2. Where shall I begin… your poetic writing, awesome photography or your delectable presentation of beautifully grilled chicken and vegetables. Your blogging is the epitome of quality before quantity.🙂

  3. I love how you have said sharing your own light with another, doesn’t dim your own glow. I love your chicken kebabs. This is a really lovely family meal xx

  4. Nusrat, it’s a pleasure to see your beautiful posts. Brought a smile on my face my dear. Cheers to the reminders and a lovely life. You bring light to many.
    I love kebabs and yours looks dreamy and perfect in every way. Your pictures are stunning.
    Love you my dear.
    Have a beautiful week.
    xx

  5. Tnx for the recipe. .. And very beautiful decorations… Keep it up….

  6. I agree with above, I enjoy your posts:-) Your photos tell a story and within one photo there are so many thoughts! Love them:-)

  7. Oh! what a beautiful kabab each piece looks so juicy and well done just want to dive in. Pure reminders ,they are definitely a legacy to leave. Such an inspiring post Nusrat.

  8. Aww this is simple awesome!! Just like the way u said … To eat simple , clean and fresh food in ur plate has a marvellous and magical story to tell….I was kinof hearing them!! Beautiful.

  9. Those photos and those Kebabs !! Eyegasm !! and I know if I follow your recipe … mouthgasm guaranteed !!

    Its been years and still trying to follow how you click those amazing photos … its still a mystery to me !! No wonder you are a true artista !!

    Happy Clicking and Happy Cooking !!🙂

  10. সব সময়ের মতই প্রশংসার দাবীদার🙂 মন ভালো করে দেয়ার মত ছবি❤

  11. This is just amazing!!!…. Love to have read your posts and feeling hungry🙂

  12. If you have a candle, let others light off theirs from yours. Your light won’t glow any dimmer. Then like Fireflies in the night, twinkling love surrounds you.

    aspiring words! as much as these overwhelmingly luring foodographs! But most of us would love to eat simple, clean and fresh but these are, I think, specially the fresh one is hard enough to come by!😦

    Thanks for inviting apu. Its really surprising to see you keep posting on a regular basis amid of your family business. (y)

  13. Nusrat, you had me at your first paragraph (such a descriptive rendering of the anguish that befalls us from time to time) and your photos… if I could eat ’em through my screen, I would!

    Viewing (and reading) vicariously in Oklahoma, ~ Kim, xo

    • Dear Poetess, Oklahoma is only four hours drive away from Dallas! Let’s meet-up and I’ll make you some restaurant-quality Kebab🙂 Hugs.

      • Loving that idea (and you), Nusrat! My hubby still has a few minor repairs to complete on the “Thelma & Louise mobile” (aka my ’96 T-Bird), but after that I’ll be ready for a road trip!!! xoxo

  14. Beautiful words and breath taking food photography! Loving a little of both today. I like the simplicity of the kebab marinade. Wishing you a very happy Friday!

  15. বাহ্! চমৎকার সব খাবার, অন্তত দেখতে। খেতেও নিশ্চয়ই খুব সুস্বাদু হবে!🙂

  16. Eat simple, clean and fresh for food in your plate has a marvelous, magical story to tell, a legacy to leave.

    In those pitch-black eclipse nights, darkness will fold your soul like a thick-as-a-brick, deep, dense, thorny blanket. Your misguided feet will step into the quicksands in some sandstormy nights. You will be lost in the saddest city lane. Tears will fall from your sand-soaked eyes like falling piercing rain droplets. But you must journey on. And pray to the ONE who rules the thunder. Soon you will see the star-studded sky and twinkling twilight. Pray hard.

    কেমনে পারেন আপু?? আমি মুগ্ধ আবার আমি সুন্দর চিন্তাশক্তি থেকে কত দূরে সেটা যেন আমাকে আরো ভাবায়!!

    God bless you apu..!!

  17. Wow, this looks incredibly awesome. I could definitely do with it right now. I cn grab it right from the screen and gobble it up. lovely.

  18. Hey Nusrat, I don’t know if I would dare to cook that dish as I hate cooking (I cook only to fill my stomach) but I must say you describe thing beautifully. You got craftswomanship in two things. 1. Cooking. 2. Poetic language. Go ahead and keep cooking delicious words. Someday i will try…

    • Thank you for your kind words❤ Like yourself I keep things very minimal as far as cooking goes. I cook only those simple dishes that I grew-up eating.
      – Nice having you over and please do come back to drop me some more inspiring words❤

Leave a Reply

